DIY Bird Feeder

Happy Friday everyone! It’s supposed to rain in the GTA today and I have to say I’m looking forward it for 2 reasons: 1) the newly washed outdoor smell, and 2) the birds that will be out and about.

Speaking of birds, in this post I wanted to share the bird feeder I made last week! (Eh eh, good segue huh).

CRW_0283

MATERIALS

A small/medium sized frame
Rope or cord (I used jute rope)
1 bird bell feeder

STEPS

1. Wrap the cord twice around the length of the frame and tie in a secure knot (repeat with the width of the frame)
2. To be able to hang the feeder, cut 4 long, equal strands of cord and tie each to each corner made by step 1
3. Tie the 4 hanging strands together, making sure the knot centered in the frame (but make sure to create a loop above the knot so you can hang the feeder
4. Place the bird bell in the middle of the frame and attach it to the centre knot using a cord 

And voila! You’re ready to feed the birds. I know that I did a ridiculously crummy job explaining the steps just now so hopefully these next photos instructions will help some. I also realized that this is the struggle of someone who creates things off the top of my head..

I was surprised at how quickly the birds came! My camera is very happy, and so is this red winged black bird.

CRW_0295

I should say, though, that I do bring this feeder in when it rains because I’m not sure how the jute cord will hold up if it’s wet. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this DIY! Let me know if you decide to make this bad boy or let me know if you’ve ever made your own bird feeder.

Cheerio!

One response to “DIY Bird Feeder

  1. Pingback: Backyard Buddies | GOKOTTA·

Thoughts?

