It’s perfectly fine to be confused

Happy Wednesday! I thought that for this week’s Humpday Happy I would share something I read on Tumblr last night. I’m not going too far when I say that this quote by George Saunders from The Braindead Megaphone is one of the most affirming and important lessons I’ve learned ever. So here are some thoughts on it:

Mounting created Bloggif

Don’t be afraid to be confused. Try to remain permanently confused. Anything is possible. Stay open, forever, so open it hurts, and then open up some more, until the day you die, world without end, amen”

I used to be afraid of confusion… Of not knowing. I always wanted everything to be planned and I couldn’t/wouldn’t deal with change. Now, though, I’ve to welcome confusion. It’s confusion about where I want to be, about which path I should take or whether I should pave my own way that’s lead me to discover the things that I’m truly passionate about.

Confusion is a driving force and it goes hand in hand with curiosity. With these two in your back pocket you’ll be able to walk towards clarity with more confidence in your step, if only until the next moment of confusion.

Seriously, don’t be afraid to be confused or vulnerable because it opens the door to learning new things, whether it be about others, the world around you, or yourself. I guarantee you’ll be surprised at what you can find out if you’re willing.

There are so many mysteries out there and confusion compels me to solve as many as I can. It’s the best addiction there is.

Thoughts?

