Humpday Happy – ONE

Gahhh, I’m a day late again but I didn’t want to wait another week to post the first of my Humpday Happy series. The middle of the week, for me at least, usually involves a large amount of bargaining with myself (i.e. if you write your introductory paragraph, you’ve done enough to justify wasting an hour afterwards watching YouTube… don’t lie, I know you do it too). So with HH, I hope to give you all (and myself) a little boost to get you through the rest of the week whether it be in the form of laughs or inspiration (or maybe even some cute animals).

Let’s get it on, yeah? This week’s HH is all about the #100happydays challenge.

Untitled

I first saw this on A Beautiful Mess then clicked over to the main site where I decided that I REALLY wanted to participate. I’ve been in a less than desirable mindset lately and I’ve found it particularly hard to see the bright/happy side of things that I know is always present somewhere. I kind of feel like I’m actually going out of my way to ignore the good..

Enter #100happydays. It’s a daily challenge that involves photographing something that makes you happy, no matter how small or insignificant it may seem to others. Those who completed the challenge have seen an overall increase in mood and general happiness. Just go to their website to register yourself and don’t forget to use the hashtag #100happydays.

I’m excited to begin the challenge, but also curious to see the effect it will have on me. I thought I’d start with talking about some of the things that have made me happy lately.

IMG_3648I’m not quite sure why seeing these mini models of the VW bus and buggy at my store made me so happy.. Possibly because these are part of the summer decor tchotchkes which means that warmer weather must be upon us. Possibly because these are my two absolute dream vehicles.. Who knows? All that matters is that it made me happy right?

IMG_3647

I also don’t know why I was so excited when I bought this stack of construction paper today. I think it was the stop motion ideas I had floating around my head coupled with the realization that you don’t have to be in elementary school to play with construction paper. Releasing your inner child has to be one of the sure fire ways to make yourself happier.

IMG_3646

Oatmeal is definitely one of my comfort foods and it always puts me in a better mood, especially when it’s cold. It’s hot but not soupy so it fills you up! I’ve got black currants (kind of like raisins but more tarte), coconut shavings, sugar, and evaporated milk. Mmmm…

 

And last but most certainly not least on my happy list are my nephews that I visited last week. There’s something about the attention that babies and little kids demand that make you forget about everything else but them, not that that’s a bad thing. You can’t help but smile and accept when they want you to play with them, read to them, or carry them. I don’t get to see them nearly as often as I would like so I’m always surprised at how much they’ve grown physically and mentally. It’s amazing to see how much bigger and smarter they get every time we come over. Ahhh.. I’m so lucky to be the older guy’s  godmother.

And that conclude this week’s Humpday Happy! I encourage all of you to participate in the #100happydays challenge. You can follow my progress on my Instagram (the link is on the right side of my blog). Let me know below if you decide to participate and include your Twitter/Instagram/Tumblr or whatever social media outlet you plan on using to share your photos so I can follow along. 🙂

 

Thoughts?

