Carmen Cooks feat. Le Boyfriend – Steak & Mushrooms

Whattttt, two posts in a day AND it’s another food one?!

No you’re not hallucinating; it just seemed like a good day for steaks and buttery Maggi mushrooms… That my boyfriend made after I cut my finger on the mushroom press and proceeded to have a panic attack. Don’t worry about me, though. I’ve got Disney princess band-aids.

To make the mushrooms, you’ll need:

  • Mushrooms
  • Garlic
  • Butter or margarine
  • Maggi (I’m sure you could also use soy sauce)

*Note: I’m not including any real measurements because I usually eye this recipe and it’s really up to your tastes! 

For the steaks, you’ll need:

  • Whatever cut of beef you like
  • Montreal steak spice
  • Pepper
  • Garlic
  • Butter or margarine

To make the mushrooms, you have to:

  1. Heat approx. 1 tbsp of butter or margarine in a small pot; add the garlic and sautee until golden brown. You can remove some of the garlic to add to the steak before the next step.
  2. Add the mushrooms. What a few moments for them to shrink.
  3. Add as much Maggi/soy sauce as desired (keep in mind Maggi is pretty salty).
  4. Let it simmer for a few minutes, then eat!

For the steaks, you’ll need to:

  1. Cover with margarine and season with pepper, Montreal steak spice, and the garlic you sauteed earlier for the mushrooms.
  2. Add some margarine to a pan with a med-high flame. 
  3. Cook each steak on both sides for 2.5 minutes for medium-rare.

Sooooooo good and soft and not dry at all and just…. mmmmmmmm….

Bye!

Oh.. One more thing.. The new blog I created just before New Years (Thanks For All The Babel Fish) as moved HERE so click on over for travel, history, science, art, and just general “what?” type things! I swear this is the last change. Except for my background photo… I hope you like!

Thoughts?

