Updates, Lessons, Resolutions

I hope everyone is having an amazing holiday so far! Mine has been filled with work, family, friends, and most of all excitement.

First thing I want to talk about is my new (second) blog: www.thanksforallthebabelfish.wordpress.com. I’ll be moving all my Weekday Whimsy posts there so hopefully I can expand it to my content without having to compromise the beauty/body/decorating/etc things I usually post here. Look forward to more history, art, technology, and science goodies on that blog!

Next up I thought I would share some things I’ve learned this year. While 2013 hasn’t been an entirely outstanding one where I’ve had many plans or even really done many things, I have learned a lot about the real world, other people, and (most importantly) myself.

So here are my 13 lessons of 2013:

  1. Patience, follow through, and open-mindedness are virtues worth working on…
  2. … So are money and time management for that matter.
  3. Slouching is ridiculously bad for your back and shoulders.
  4. Your dentist can always tell if you’re lying about flossing your teeth.
  5. Clothes become way more fun and they reflect your unique personality when you stop dressing for others/dressing to fit a certain trend or style.
  6. Procrastination is the mother of all evils (Oh who am I kidding… I’ve known that since the first day of grade 9)
  7. Writing things down makes more room in your brain for other thoughts and ideas.
  8. It’s okay to feel lost. You’ll soon realize how many open doors are ahead; you just have to open them.
  9. It’s okay to change your mind too.
  10. Don’t pay attention to what other people think about you. All that matters is you’re happy with yourself in the end.
  11. You don’t realize how important some relationships are to you until things start to change.
  12. It’s okay to reflect on the past, as long as you keep working towards your furture.
  13. Do things without expectations. Trust me.

And now that I’ve gotten those off my chest, here are a few of my 2014 resolutions.

  • Write a little everyday
  • Meditate 10 minutes every day
  • Comment on other peoples’ work more
  • Keep up with weekly school readings
  • Put a percentage of my paycheck away for savings
  • Learn something new everyday

That’s it for 2013 reflections! I’d love to read some of your 2013 lessons and 2014 resolutions so leave them in the comments below 🙂

I hope everyone has a lovely, fun filled, and safe New Years eve. Thanks for your support!

2 responses to “Updates, Lessons, Resolutions

  1. Great Post, I can definitely apply some of the lessons you learned to my life too. Especially being the two about being a procrastinator and patience.Happy News Years To You ( When time does get there ). I’ll be going to check out your new blog shortly :). God Bless

    • Thanks! I think those two are really important ones that I’ll never really stop working on (partially because I don’t think I’ll ever master them, haha).

      Happy New Year 🙂

Thoughts?

