Room Decorating Frenzy!

Happy Thursday everyone! I handed in a fairly big assignment for my ancient Egyptian sites class today so I thought I would fool around some more on Polyvore and make a little inspiration collage for my room. I mentioned this in my last post but after a few years of not having my bedroom, I am finally getting it back this weekend and I’m open to anything!

Room Ideas

As of now I’ve got a queen sized bed in the middle of my room but this doesn’t really leave me much space around the bed.. I’m thinking of downsizing to a double and sticking it in the corner of my room. A low bed frame with additional shelves underneath would be sweet, but I’m also liking the idea of the bed right on the floor and maybe doing a DIY headboard.

I also want to get some sort of seating for another corner of my room. I’m in LOVE with swing chairs but not sure if they would work in a bedroom so I might have to put this idea on hold until I get my own house (it would be awesome on a porch). On a more practical note, these arm chairs would be perfect! I love how wide the sweat is so I can sit in a number of positions and still be comfortable. I like the pattern of the upholstered one but a monochromatic one in a complimentary colour to my wall paint (teal/aquamarine, so maybe a tangerine or a pale pink) would also be really cute; either way, both would add a pop of colour!

In terms of bed accessories, I’m thinking of just simple bed sheets (maybe white/cream) with some statement pillows with prints and in simple colours. A fur blanket and a fur rug for the side of my bed would also be awesome; it doesn’t have to be real fur because its ridiculously expensive (especially for a rug) and I don’t see the need to kill a coyote so I can rub my feet on something soft, but that’s just my opinion.

A few knick knacks like cute little lights and figurines will also help bring more life to the room!

Now all that’s left is for me to get started! Stay tuned for more room makeover and inspiration themed posts!

3 responses to “Room Decorating Frenzy!

  1. My mother put in a swinging chair in my old room, now turned into a tv/family room since I moved out. My room was the old matter bedroom, so it did have that extra space, but what I’m trying to say is, don’t give up on the swinging chair! I think they look amazing in bedrooms!

    • My mom is on board with the idea! So now I just have to move furniture/etc in my room to make more space 🙂 I actually think my room is bigger than average so that’s good!

      I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in real life before so I’m not sure how big it actually is but I’m sure I can find the room. You convinced me haha! 🙂

      • Woo! Awesome! Haha, yea they look really cool. I’m sure you’ll love it. You’ll have to post pictures, I would love to see!

Thoughts?

